Important Message from the Superintendent

It is with a heavy heart that I share with the Canastota community that one of our June 2020 graduates, Shane Pinard, tragically passed away yesterday as a result of injuries from a serious car accident. Two other students were also involved in the accident, including a current CHS student, who suffered non-life-threatening injuries.

We are devastated by the loss of Shane, who we will remember as a good friend and an avid fisherman who lived life to the fullest. We send our sincere condolences to Shane's family and friends for strength during this tragedy. Our thoughts and wishes go out to the families of the other two students for a speedy recovery.

Due to current social distancing guidance from NYS and the local health department, we are unable to hold any sort of gathering on our school grounds. That being said, we are fully committed to supporting our students and staff during this tragedy. As such our guidance counselors, school psychologists and school social workers will be available remotely to provide assistance to students and staff.

Please contact any member of our counseling team by email for support. You can also leave a message at the Junior-Senior High School at (315) 697-2003 so that a member of our crisis support team can contact you.

Jay Altobello: jaltobello@canastotacsd.org

Bob Mengucci: bmengucci@canastotacsd.org

Dylan Gifford: dgifford@canasatotacsd.org

Kaylee Napolitano: knapolitano@canastotacsd.org

Brenda Jenkins: bjenkins@canastotacsd.org

Amanda Schlegel: aschlegel@canastotacsd.org

Amelia Berezein: aberezein@canastotacsd.org

Dana Podkowka: dpodkowka@canastotacsd.org

Danielle Burgos: dburgos@canastotacsd.org

Again, our hearts go out to the family. If there is anything additional the district can do to support you during this time, please don’t hesitate to let us know.

BOARD OF EDUCATION

Next Meeting: Tuesday, August 11, 2020 @ 6:30pm

The Board of Education remains committed to providing an opportunity for public participation in Board meetings even though we are not able to come together in a traditional meeting format. Please note that Canastota residents wishing to participate in the public comment portion of the Board meeting may submit their questions or comments by noon on Tuesday, August 11th to be included in the public meeting. Please send your comment to boe@canastotacsd.org and include your name, address and phone number in your correspondence in order to ensure that your comments or questions are included.


announcementS

District News

Canastota Grad Earns National Art Award
07/21/2020
Sara Shaver, a 2020 graduate of Canastota High School, earned a National Medal in this year’s Scholastic Art and Writing Awards, a nationwide showcase of outstanding student art and writing.
Read More about Canastota Grad Earns National Art Award
clear
CHS Seniors Names Scholar-Athletes
06/15/2020
Congratulations to seniors Carly Cashel and Andrew Marshall, this year’s Section III Scholar-Athlete Award recipients for Canastota!
Read More about CHS Seniors Names Scholar-Athletes
clear
Mental Health Teams See Increased Need
05/13/2020
May is National Mental Health Awareness Month, and in no year has it seemed more critical to recognize our students’ and staff’s mental health needs than this one.
Read More about Mental Health Teams See Increased Need
clear

our vision

The Canastota Central School District aspires to be a District of Excellence that provides the best possible education to all students in a nurturing, engaging 21st century environment supported by a committed community.